Monday, January 08, 2007

News 08 - 01 - 07

Annual General Meeting
The AGM took place in the Community Centre on Saturday night last. In his Chairman’s address, Tom Duignan focused on the efforts of the Senior team to capture a county title. Acknowledging that the team had come close in 2006, he urged greater effort in 2007 and said that the rewards would come if the work was put in. He also referred to refereeing matters and said that it was important that more club members gave consideration to becoming referees. He congratulated Shay Reynolds on the work he had done as Club Draw co-ordinator over the years and thanked all those who had contributed to club life in any way throughout 2006.

Officers returned at the meeting included: President - Fr Gerry O’Brien; Chairman – Tom Duignan; Vice Chairman – Michael Mc Gowan; Secretary – Shane Reynolds; Ass. Secretary – Pat Farrell; Treasurer – Jackie Conboy; Ass. Treasurer – Sean Mc Cauley; PRO – Feargal Mc Gill; Youth/Coaching Officer – Seamus Mallon; Development Officer – Sean Mc Guinness; Oifigeach Cultúra - Martina Hackett; County Board Delegates (from) – Tom Duignan, Noel Mc Closkey, Shane Reynolds; Bord na nOg Delegates (from) – Brian and Seamus Mallon, Vincie Mc Guinness; and Ladies Board Delegates (from) – Niamh Reynolds, Jillian Duignan and Emma Moffat.

The 2007 Club executive will consist of: Tom Duignan, Micheál Mc Gowan, Shane Reynolds, Pat Farrell, Jackie Conboy, Seamus Mallon, Noel Mc Closkey, Seoirse Reynolds, Orla Bohan, Shay Reynolds, Fionnuala Howard, Tom Moran, Sean Mc Guinness, Feargal Mc Gill, Sean Mc Gowan, Sean Mc Cauley and Vincent Canning. The Player’s Representative on the Executive will be the 2007 Senior team Captain.

Noel Mahon has been in contact to express his thanks to everyone who participated or helped out in any way with the 2007 GOAL mile. The event was a great success. Noel also asks that any outstanding sponsorship cards be returned as soon as possible as he is working diligently on the compilation of a final figure for this year’s event.


Club membership is currently available from officers of the club priced at Eur30 for players and Eur10 for non-playing membership.

Scor na nÓg

Our Question Time team were involved in a thrilling Scór na nÓg Question Time final, which required five tie break rounds, before eventually Fenagh St Caillin’s earned the title. It was hard luck on our gallant trio of Niall O Connor. Paul Dockery and Damian Mc Gowan, but they certainly performed exceptionally on the night and were most unlucky not to progress.

No comments: