Tuesday, January 10, 2006

News 10 - 1 - 06

Club Draw
The December club draw was held in the Copper Still on Christmas week. The winners were: EUR100 - Emma Gannon; EUR50 - Christy Farrell; EUR30 - Donal Croghan; EUR20 - Martin Horan, Hugh Colreavy, Ann Canning, Kathleen Shanley, Christy Farrell, Michael Farrell, Jim & Mary Gannon, Deirdre Burns, Josephine Mc Gushin, Neil Shanley and Ann Marie Bohan. The winner of a Bottle Of Whiskey (Sponsored by Sean Moffatt & Family) was Shirley Rodgers and a Meal Voucher (Sponsored By The Copper Still) - Shirley Rodgers.
We’d like to take this opportunity to thank all of those who supported the club draw throughout 2005. It remains a vital component in covering the day to day running expenses of the club and Shay and the organising committee deserve much credit for keeping the draw as strong as ever. We’d also like to thank the pubs in the parish who hosted the draw throughout the year. Go raibh mile maith agaibh go léir.

Bornacoola was the venue for the 2nd annual GOAL mile on New Year’s Day and many club players and members participated in the event which raised a significant amount for this worthy charity. Well done to Christy Carroll and Charlie Mc Gettigan for setting runners and walkers on their way and to all those who provided sponsorship and indeed took part in the event.
Our own Noel Mahon was the driving force behind the whole affair and he deserves great credit for the wonderful job he performed in organising the event. Noel has asked us to pass on his thanks to the club for hosting the event and to all those from the parish who participated on New Year’s Day.

Annual General Meeting
The Club AGM was held in the Community Centre on Saturday night last where the members were presented with excellently prepared reports from Secretary Shane Reynolds and Treasurer Jackie Conboy. The Chairman’s address reflected on a year saw the Senior team qualify for the County Final and the Intermediate team capture the Division 3 Shield.
He said it had been a particularly successful year at underage level where five trophies were won and he paid tribute to all those who had worked so hard with the younger players.
He thanked all of our sponsors for their invaluable help throughout the preceding twelve months and said he hoped 2006 would be the year when Bornacoola could finally win the Senior crown.

Officers returned for 2005 were: President - Fr Gerry O’Brien; Chairman – Tom Duignan; Vice Chairman – Michael Mc Gowan; Secretary – Shane Reynolds; Ass. Secretary – Pat Farrell; Treasurer – Jackie Conboy; Ass. Treasurer – Sean Mc Cauley; PRO – Feargal Mc Gill; Youth/Coaching Officer – Seamus Mallon; Development Officer – Sean Mc Guinness; County Board Delegates (from) – Shay Reynolds, Noel Mc Closkey, Shane Reynolds; Bord na nOg Delegates (from) – Brian and Seamus Mallon, Vincie Mc Guinness; Player’s Representative – Seamus Mallon and Ladies Board Delegates – Orla Bohan and Niamh Reynolds.

The Club Executive for 2005 will consist of: Tom Duignan, Micheal Mc Gowan, Shane Reynolds, Pat Farrell, Jackie Conboy, Seamus Mallon, Feargal Mc Gill, Noel Mc Closkey, Seoirse Reynolds, Sean Mc Gowan, Orla Bohan, Peter Hanley, Mick Mallon, Sean Mc Cauley, Tom Moran, Sean Mc Guinness, Vinny Canning and Shay Reynolds.

County Team
The County team began their FBD league campaign with a victory over GMIT in Bornacoola on Sunday last. Gary Mc Closkey captained the team, a huge honour for the club and for Gary personally.

Medal Presentation
The medal presentation to the winning U-12, U-14, U-16 and Minor teams from 2004 and 2005 will take place in the Community Centre on Friday night next at 8pm. All players from these teams are asked to be in attendance.

Membership of the club for 2005 is currently available from Pat Farrell, Shane Reynolds or Jackie Conboy. Playing membership is €30 and non-playing membership €10. We would remind all those intending to play for the club in 2006 that they must become members of the club.

2006 Club Draw
Tickets for annual membership of the 2006 club draw are currently available from club members priced at €20 for inclusion in all 12 draws throughout the year. The draw is still the main source of income for the club annually and we’d ask that you continue your support in 2006.

2005 Sponsors
The club would like to extend their thanks to all those who helped with sponsorship in 2005.
In particular we would like to thank: Bornacoola Community Development Association, The Brandywell, The Copper Still, Cox’s Steakhouse, The Weir Lodge, Mc Gowan Brothers, Reynolds’ The Bridge, Gerard Stenson Hardware, Sean White Cars, Liam Nicholl, Bornacoola Gun Club, Peter Reynolds, Shay Reynolds, Brendan O Beirne, Annaduff Credit Union, Cathal Mc Crann, Eugene Hardiman, Henry Sorohan, Liam Shanley, Michael and Bridie Shanley, Patrick Duffy and NIB Mohill. Táimíd an bhuíoch daoibh go léir.

Scór na nÓg
Commiserations to Lauren Shanley (Dromod) who represented Bornacoola in the Co Finals of Scór na nÓg in Ballinamore on Sunday in Recitation. She was very unfortunate not to take the title, but is a great hope for the future.

No comments: